Sweets and Treats Suitable for Vegetarians and Vegans
We believe everyone should enjoy sweets. That’s why we produce a wide range of confectionery suitable for both vegetarians and vegans. We don’t want anyone missing out on our delicious mint cake.
What is a vegetarian?
|Vegetarians don’t eat:
||They Do eat:
- Meat or poultry
- Fish or seafood
- Gelatine or animal-rennet
- Stock or fat from animals
- Vegetables and Fruit
Grains and pulses
Eggs and Dairy
Nuts and seeds
A vegan will not eat eggs, dairy and honey.
Why do people choose a vegetarian diet?
There are many reasons why people choose a vegetarian diet. Firstly, not eating meat has less impact on the environment. The Vegetarian Society says that by following a vegetarian diet for a year, you could save the same amount of emissions as not using a small family car for 6 months. That’s a lot of emissions!
A vegetarian diet also uses less water at the food production stage and reduces the amount of land needed to produce food. All this goes to help with climate change and other environmental issues we are facing.
A vegetarian diet is also healthy. The vitamins and minerals found in meat can also be found in alternatives such as beans, grains, green vegetables, and cheese. Many vegetarians say they feel less sluggish and have more energy now they’ve cut meat from their diets.
Always check if a product is vegetarian
One of the trickiest things about becoming vegetarian is knowing what hidden ingredients may be in a product. By law, milk, eggs, and fish must be shown on the ingredients list, so it is important to check. Some chocolate brands use whey powder that is sourced from animal-derived rennet, and gelatine can be found in some desserts, marshmallows, ice cream and some sweets.
Can you eat sweets if you are a vegetarian?
Yes, of course you can. At Quiggin’s, we have a whole range of sweets and confectionery suitable for both vegans and vegetarians. We list all our ingredients on our online shop so you can double-check and also look for any allergens.
Quiggins’ Vegetarian and Vegan range
Let’s start with the mint cake. All of our mint cake is suitable for vegetarians and vegans. This includes our scrumptious chocolate covered ones too, because they are covered in plain chocolate. The white or brown mint centre is simply made from sugar, glucose, water and peppermint oil. It is the number one confectionery choice for many vegetarians
But it isn’t only our mint cake that’s vegetarian.
You can also enjoy a range of pick and mix sweets that are made without gelatine making them perfect for vegetarian and vegan diets.
- Tongue painters
- Dracula teeth
- Space mix
- Fizzy cherry cola bottles
- Melon slices
Or, you can buy a jar of vegan and vegetarian pick and mix. These make fantastic presents as well.
It’s great that choosing to follow a vegetarian diet doesn’t mean you have to sacrifice the things you love to eat. In fact, you may find new foods that you haven’t tried before.
If you are vegan or vegetarian and haven’t tried Kendal Mint Cake before, you must head over to our online shop. It’s a taste like no other and will satisfy even the sweetest tooth.